Categories Cyprus

Often asked: Who Owns Cyprus Air?

Who bought Cyprus Airways?

Cyprus Airways has been acquired by Malta’s SJC Group and has named George Mavrocostas as its new chief executive. Russia’s S7 Group had said in April that it was looking to sell its 36.9% stake in the airline.

What happened to Cyprus Airways?

The airline ceased operations on 9 January 2015 following a policy made by the European Commission that the state aid paid to the airline by the Government of Cyprus was illegal and had to be returned by the company. This effectively caused Cyprus Airways to be bankrupt.

Does Cyprus Airways still exist?

History. Founded in 1947, Cyprus Airways was the flag carrier of Cyprus and operated from its main base at Larnaca International Airport. This was until the airline declared itself bankrupt in 2015.

What is the national airline of Cyprus?

Cyprus Airways is the national airline of Cyprus and is based at International Airport (LCA) in Larnaca. Cyprus Airways serves 12 destinations in 7 countries.

Why is Nicosia airport closed?

With the ceasefire signed on 16 August 1974 Nicosia Airport became part of the United Nations controlled Buffer Zone separating the two communities on the island, and it has been inoperable as a fully functioning airport ever since.

You might be interested:  Question: What Is The Position Of Cyprus On The Euro?

Is Cyprus Airways Safe?

About Cyprus Airways In July 2018, Cyprus Airways has successfully passed the International Air Transport Association (IATA) Operational Safety Audit (IOSA), one of the highest standards in the world for airline operational safety.

Where do Cyprus Airways fly to?

Cyprus Airways will also connect visitors flying from Malta to Larnaca via its international network to Thessaloniki, Heraklion, Skiathos, Preveza, Rome, Verona, Prague, Moscow, Saint Petersburg, Kiev, Odessa, Tel Aviv, and Beirut.

What airlines fly from Cyprus?

Airlines flying from Cyprus

  • Germanwings.
  • TAP Portugal.
  • Norwegian.
  • Blue Air.
  • Thomas Cook Airlines.
  • Tunisair.
  • Singapore Airlines.
  • Monarch.

When did Cyprus close?

In general from Cyprus, Jet2, easyJet and American Airlines fly the most to London.

How many airports are there in Cyprus?

There is a total of nine airports in Cyprus, five belonging to the military departments of the Republic of Cyprus, the UK and the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus; the remaining 4 are international airports as you can see on the map.

What is the capital of Cyprus?

Nicosia, Greek Lefkosía, Turkish Lefkoşa, city and capital of the Republic of Cyprus. It lies along the Pedieos River, in the centre of the Mesaoria Plain between the Kyrenia Mountains (north) and the Troodos range (south).

Where is the country Cyprus?

listen)), officially called the Republic of Cyprus, is an island nation in the eastern Mediterranean Sea. It is the third largest and third most populous island in the Mediterranean, and is located south of Turkey; west of Syria; northwest of Lebanon, Israel and the Gaza Strip; north of Egypt; and southeast of Greece.

1 звезда2 звезды3 звезды4 звезды5 звезд (нет голосов)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *